Erectile Dysfunction

The Efficacy of Oral Medication

Our center provides oral medications for the treatment of insufficient rigidity / ED that work as a selective enzyme inhibitor. They can inhibit cGMP-specific phosphodiesterase type 5 (PDE-5), an enzyme that maintains the amount of cGMP in human body (when a man is sexually aroused, cGMP will be released to the penis). Balancing the level of cGMP will allow the smooth muscle of a penis to relax, which increases the blood flow coming to the penis.

Mechanism of erection and oral medication

During arousal the following occurs:

  • The man’s central nervous system stimulates the release of a number of chemicals, including nitric oxide (NO), the main contributor for eliciting and maintaining erection.
  • Nitric oxide stimulates production of cGMP, a chemical that relaxes the smooth muscles in the penis. Smooth muscle relaxation allows blood to flow into the tiny pool-like cavernous sinusoids, resulting in increased rigidity of the penis.
  • This increased blood flow nearly doubles the diameter of the cavernous sinusoids.
  • Penile veins surrounding the chambers are squeezed almost completely by this pressure.
  • The veins are unable to drain blood out of the penis and so the penis becomes rigid and erect.

After ejaculation or arousal, cGMP is broken down by an enzyme called phosphodiesterase-5 (PDE5), and other compounds are released that cause the penis to become flaccid (unerect) again. PDE5 inhibitor helps maintain erection by inhibiting the action of PDE5. Since there is no activation of the NO / cGMP system in the absence of sexual stimulation, taking those oral medication does not independently cause an erection.

Patients that are Not Recommended

Some patients are not recommended to take oral medication for the treatment of insufficient rigidity / ED. If a man has the following situations, he should not take in any oral medication that contains PDE-5 without the instruction of a doctor:

  • taking nitrate drugs to treat angina pectoris or alpha-blocker (except taking 0.4mg Flomax) for high blood pressure or having prostatic hypertrophy
  • suffering from severe heart disease, such as unstable angina pectoris, history of heart attack, or irregular heartbeat. Sildenafil contained in oral medication will increase the load of the heart, particularly in the presence of psychological and physiological stresses. Therefore, men with heart disease should receive check and evaluation to determine whether having sex will increase the risk of heart attack
  • recent history of stroke
  • suffering from low blood pressure
  • suffering from uncontrollable diabetes
  • suffering from uncontrollable high blood pressure
  • receiving anticoagulant treatment
  • suffering from severe heart failure
  • suffering from retinitis pigmentosa (people with this this genetic disease will not produce phosphate esters, therefore they will not respond to sildenafil)

Premature Ejaculation

Our Center provides oral medication that belongs to a member of selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor (SSRI) family, for the treatment of uncontrollable / premature ejaculation in men between 18 to 64 years old[1]. Oral medication delays ejaculation by inhibiting the serotonin transporter and increasing serotonin’s action at the post synaptic cleft. 

Without doctor’s consultation, patients who have below conditions should not take any medication that consists of SSRI to treat PE:

  • men with permanent pacemaker or with cardiac problem, including heart failure, heart block or any valvular disease
  • men with history of fainting or severe renal impairment
  • men with moderate to severe hepatic impairment and receiving CYP3A4 inhibitors such as ketoconazole, ritonavir, and telithromycine
  • men with current or past mental problems such as depression and receiving thioridazine, monoamine oxidase inhibitors, SSRIs, serotonin-norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors, or tricyclic antidepressant

Doctor consultation ($500) is required for the prescription of oral medication.

硬度不足 / 陽痿

口服藥的效用

本中心提供治療硬度不足 / 陽痿的口服藥屬於一種名為「選擇性酶抑製劑」的藥物。此類藥物可抑制磷酸二酯酶-5 (PDE5),抑制磷酸二酯酶-5 (PDE5) 可保持環磷酸鳥苷 (cGMP) 的水平 (當性興奮時,化學物cGMP會被釋放於陰莖內),平衡環磷酸鳥苷 (cGMP) 的水平可使陰莖內的平滑肌放鬆和增加陰莖的血流。

口服藥及勃起之原理

當性興奮時,會發生以下情况:

  • 男士之中樞神經系統會受刺激並釋放出化學物質,包括一氧化氮 (NO),一氧化氮被視為誘發及維持勃起的主要促成物質。
  • 一氧化氮會刺激陰莖制造環狀鳥甘一磷酸 (cGMP),此物質會令陰莖的平滑肌放鬆,使血液流向小坑狀海綿竇,從而令陰莖充血。
  • 血流增加可使海綿體的直徑增大達一倍。
  • 海綿體周圍的靜脈血管被血流的壓力擠壓著並關閉起來。
  • 關閉的靜脈不能使血液從陰莖流出,從而使陰莖變得堅挺及勃起。

於射精或性興奮後,環狀鳥甘一磷酸 (cGMP) 會被磷酸二酯酶 (PDE-5)分解,而另一化合物會釋出並使陰莖軟化。磷酸二酯酶抑制劑 (PDE5 inhibitor – 口服藥) 抑制磷酸二酯酶 (PDE-5) 的作用並協助勃起。因此,口服藥物需要配合性刺激,才能達到勃起效果。

不建議服用口服藥的人士

有些患者並不適宜服用口服藥去治療硬度不足 / 陽痿。男士如有以下情況,在沒有醫生指導下,均不宜自行服用含PDE-5酶抑制劑的口服藥物:

  • 正服用硝酸鹽類藥物 (nitrate drugs) 治療心絞痛及 / 或服用alpha受體阻劑 (alpha-blocker) (每日服用 Flomax 0.4mg 除外) 治療高血壓,以及患有前列腺肥大之人士
  • 患有嚴重心臟病,如不穩定心絞痛、有心臟病發紀錄、或心律不正等。口服藥內含的昔多芬可增加心臟負荷,在心理及生理壓力存在下尤甚。因此,患有心臟病之男士應進行檢查及評估,以確定進行性行為時會否增加心臟病發的風險
  • 最近有中風的紀錄
  • 患有低血壓症
  • 未能受到控制的糖尿病
  • 未能受到控制的高血壓
  • 正接受抗凝血劑治療
  • 嚴重心臟功能衰竭
  • 色素性視網膜炎(如患有此遺傳病的人士,身體不能產生磷酸二酯,因此不會對昔多芬有反應)

 

控射障礙 / 早洩

本中心提供治療控射障礙 / 早洩的口服藥屬於一種選擇性血清素再吸收抑制劑,專門用以治療18至64歲患者的控射障礙 / 早洩問題[1],能抑制血清素傳送,增加血清素在後突觸間隙的作用,因而令射精延遲。

男士如有以下情況,在沒有醫生指導下,均不宜自行服用含選擇性血清素再吸收抑制劑的口服藥物治療控射障礙 / 早洩:

  • 需永久配戴心臟起搏器或有心臟問題,包括心衰竭,心傳導阻滯或心瓣膜病
  • 過去有昏厥紀錄或嚴重腎功能受損
  • 有中度至嚴重肝功能受損和正接受CYP3A4抑制劑,如ketoconazole, ritonavir, and telithromycine
  • 曾有或現有心理問題,如抑鬱症,並正接受thioridazine, monoamine oxidase inhibitors, SSRIs,serotonin-norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors, or tricyclic antidepressant

如需處方口服藥,需先咨詢醫生 (醫生診金$500)